克里斯蒂娜卡爾森 -  Kikki.K最生活方式 - 編輯 -  3我心儀的對象從最漂亮的印花小牛皮製成, 完美與優雅的琺瑯金滑完. 它的成本比在扎拉狂歡以上,但我不在乎. 我想它,它讓我感到幸福. 我們不是在談論手袋, 但筆記本電腦. 當我寫這篇文章, 我的辦公桌上堆滿了他們. 有日記 - 當前和現在 - 我用潦草的想法倒在記事本, 何況離奇明信片的朋友和家人送我多年來, 連同感謝信從設計師和整個抽屜全熒光筆的, 圓珠筆和專用基礎筆的那些日子裡,我感覺所有的沙沙聲和長大.

像許多女人, 我沉迷於文具. 我幾乎可以測出我以書面的形式生活, 從脆弱的筆記本電腦從我的學生時代到可笑昂貴的我現在用的. 我用中學期間潦草的筆記上的無盡墊跟從我的人與每家搬去. 和勃朗峰筆爺爺給我買了我的GCSE課程後,從沒出過遠或者. 雖然我可能恩啊在袋子上下降嚴重磅,我有我的眼睛, 我只是無法抗拒的衝動揮霍性感的日記,我不需要. 甚至不要讓我開始日曆, 版畫藝術和感謝信.

在新賽季的文具年貨的快感是我並不覺得自己離開你 - 誰不記得一個全新的記事本的喜悅之前,它成為你的書包裡有提示-Ex和墨漬污損? 這一切都始於一個記事本的Smythson, 從我的媽媽的禮物,當我開始上大學. 如此優雅, 如此精確, 那麼瀟灑. WH史密斯公司的螺旋裝訂成蔭的書是死我了,從今以後,, 和終身戀情誕生.

Kikki.K 創辦人 克里斯蒂娜·卡爾松 已經取得了職業生涯的好文具. 十多年前,她醒了凌晨3點與頓悟. 她花了幾年時間的工作之間移動,並希望更多的東西. “我的合夥人保羅鼓勵我寫下重要的是我的一切,“ 她說. “我想追隨的熱情,做一些我真正愛駕駛的每一天. 我想留在我的朋友和家人在瑞典連接. 我想我自己的企業的獨立. 我想做些有意義的事. 我想賺夠支付賬單。“這只是後,她開始對自己的設置和在家工作的想法玩弄,她注意到在市場上的差距的功能,但以設計為主導的固定. 快進到現在和Kristina單挑過業務 600 人, 與澳大利亞的商店隨處可見, 新西蘭, 香港和她的祖國瑞典, 新加坡, 美國和最後倫敦.

她是第一個承認它不是所有一帆風順. 她推出的商務個月後 9/11 和經濟崩潰. 直到這一點,她從來沒有在文具企業合作, 過零的商業知識和英語不是她的第一語言. 相反,對Etsy的銷售, 她說服了她的搭檔保羅, 出售他的房子賦予品牌資金的注入,它需要並迅速開了第一家店在墨爾本. 該賭博見成效. 她設法在這樣聰明的品牌,如人類學和J船員的創建kikki.K的世界創造了完美的策劃世界為我們所有人買成. 對於克里斯蒂娜, 它不是簡單的漂亮創造一些. 這是關於創造一看,大家都真正與連接產品.

紐約雜誌的切割開始了博客系列叫, “我喜歡那個婊子的生活,“這幾乎是著手蠢事超越完美的願望,博客和Instagram明星策劃, 但也承認,這不關我們的事能真正抵抗. 這就是當你走進一家商店kikki.K你的感覺如何. 這家居用品一套,你買的那天瞬間感覺累了,遠遠的Instagram,值得比他們上顯示的那些少; 他們的整個組織者的分類, 日記和書桌飾品會讓你重新思考你的整個工作區. 這裡, 她坦率地談到了她的故事......



開始我的夢想kikki.K之前, 正是在那裡我在許多不同的行業工作過我生命中的時間,但還沒有被發現我的激情. 我做了很多事情,工作在世界各地 - 我學到了很多沿途. 我沒有上過正規的業務培訓,但我學會了在深水區投擲自己. 旅行, 在滑雪場的工作在奧地利, 在酒廠工作在德國, 學習語言, 工作作為一個保姆, 工作A S導遊, 在酒店的工作 - 我做了很多不同的東西. 我變得非常不安,在凌晨3點一上午, 我的合作夥伴保羅鼓勵我寫下重要的是我的一切. 我想追隨的熱情,做一些我真正愛駕駛的每一天. 我想留在我的朋友和家人在瑞典連接. 我想我自己的企業的獨立性. 我想做些有意義的事. 我想賺取足夠的支付賬單. 我想, 如果我要在我自己的公司, 我需要一個漂亮的家庭辦公室. 我看著在商店產品的生產, 組織和激勵工作空間,但找不到任何適合我的口味. 我有點在第一灰心了,但後來我意識到,其實我穿過一個美妙的經營理念絆倒而這一切是如何開始. 一個我們設計過的第一批產品之一是不起眼的收納盒 - 它仍然是我的最愛,這一天一個. 你甚至可以說, 這一切都始於一個盒子! 這是美麗的瑞典設計的完美表現 - 形式的會議功能. 這是時尚, 實用,可以讓你的組織在家或工作一件容易的事.

我開始創業的很少的培訓或創業知識,但我從來沒有被嚇得問問題的人可能會認為是愚蠢的. 我不認為一個問題是以往任何時候都太愚蠢, 因為我已經從問這些問題學會是一個巨大的幫助我前進的道路上. 這一直是我的一個夢想,擁有自己的事業. 我想第一個跡象,我有我的創業本能是在十歲, 當我用騎我的周圍積雪覆蓋的街道自行車在我家附近賣聖誕圖書送貨上門. 我完全被所提供的獎勵驅動,曾經有過清晰的視野能夠贏得我自己的電視. 我決定,我將盡其所能,, 最後我也贏得了電視我作為該地區最好的售貨員努力. 這個小公司告訴我,這是可能實現的東西,當你真的想. 它也告訴我,你可以賺錢,做你真正愛一樣東西的獲得獎勵.


Kikki.K創始人克里斯蒂娜·卡爾松


最好的事情是,我真正喜歡我做什麼. 沒有什麼比駕駛在星期一早上工作做得更好 (或者每天都為此事) 是興奮. 我愛, 愛, 喜歡開發新產品與團隊. 它是如此有價值開始一個空白頁面,並與人們日常使用過自己的最好的生活美好和有意義的最終產品. 挑戰? 還有的是大量的. 具有有限的財政資源很可能是我所面臨的一個初創最難的挑戰. 當錢是稀缺, 你必須要隨機應變, 而這可能是最好的一課. 如果你不知道如何做到這一點 - 不要害怕問. 英語是我的第二語言時,我發起kikki.K, 太讓我甚至不知道這個詞是什麼“發票”的含義 – 我認為這是事做談話, 在, '發票'! 我不知道如何把一個產品開發計劃, 洽談租約, 做銷售演示, 建立一個網站或者使用一個夢幻般的團隊. 我絕對在金融領域沒有正規的業務培訓和幾乎沒有, 會計或簿記. 我從來沒有聽說過的物流或操作的. 但是,所有這些挑戰 (而更多的跟隨) 是什麼很興奮和鼓舞了我. 我有一個清晰的願景, 今天還有事.

我的合作夥伴保羅賣掉了他的家裡開了第一家專賣店, 剛剛九月之後 11 和大金融崩潰, 但我從未有過任何懷疑,這是一個正確的決定. 我有什麼,我可以創造這樣一個明確的目標,我真的相信會有足夠多的人會喜歡誰我腦子裡想. 有肯定是在增長的,事情是艱難的業務,並放棄就已經是一個討巧點. 任何人誰也開始了自己的公司就會知道到底我是什麼意思. 但是因為我有整整晶瑩剔透的願景就是我想實現, 這是總是足夠強大,通過拉大家, 不管發生了什麼. 當我們的第一家精品店的門在墨爾本開了,我遇到了這麼多的人在尋找像我們這樣的產品, 我意識到,我的眼光和我們的決定已見成效. 但我確實有一些朋友告訴我,我是個瘋子說服我的合作夥伴保羅出售他的房子,這一切投入到kikki.K. 他們認為這是一個巨大的風險,但我有什麼,我們想做的事,我沒有把它看成一個大的風險這樣一個清晰的願景. 我的合作夥伴保羅一共得到靈感,並非常支持導師. 除了一個事實,即他在我的想法相信 (有些想法是瘋狂的) 不夠賣自己的房子資助我們的第一家店, 保羅一直引導我到我的最重要的教訓之一 - 找東西我熱愛並使其職業生涯.

在早期, 你可以指望我們的團隊,一方面. 今天, 在我們的高峰期,我們有一個團隊超過 600, 包括我們的零售團隊. 有來的時候,你需要意識到你不可能做一切自己的時間 - 就像你很樂意. ,建設一個美好的團隊的人,當你身邊最重要的是. 從第一天開始, 我一直有很多的支持,我周圍的人, 我們有這樣一個令人難以置信, 天才, 今天熱情的人.

打開我們的第一個精品店是一個巨大的里程碑. 如果能夠打開大門,我自己的商店只是一種難以置信的感覺 - 然後從客戶看到的反應,每天就那麼令人興奮. 從那裡, 打開我們的第一州際店是自己的一大亮點, 因為是我們的第一國際店與更多隨後. 其他亮點包括被提名為在Oracle世界零售業獎創新獎 (此前蘋果和耐克獲了獎) 並呈現由瑞典國王和王后瑞典企業獎.

Kikki.K創始人克里斯蒂娜·卡爾松由於我們的創意總監, 我仍然非常積極地參與我們的產品開發和設計過程. 我們擁有優秀的設計師和產品經理,我一起工作的一個令人難以置信的球隊帶來想法開花結果. 這是一個相當漫長的過程, 但我絕對喜歡它. 我一直在收集靈感全年 - 我的手機上捕捉的東西, 草草記下來的東西在我的筆記本, 收集打印, 顏色和類型的激勵著我. 我把一個情緒板為範圍,並提交給我們的產品團隊和設計,並從那裡, 我們將指派誰將會在範圍內工作的設計師,並提供主題和簡要, 包括一切從顏色引用的插圖和字體的想法. 從那裡, 我們經歷了許多不同的概念作為一個團隊. 我們有我們開發的插圖每週例會, 改變顏色和討取下來的想法不同的路徑. 擁有一個強大的團隊和委託的能力是非常重要的. 不亞於你的熱情會告訴你,否則, 你自己不能做的一切 – 所以置身於美妙的人來幫助你對你的方式. 聯繫人是無價的, 所以尋求導師. 你會被多少人樂意幫助驚訝, 多少你可以向別人學習.

我記得曾讀到 企業家組織 幾乎 10 年前,當我剛開始我的生意. 我迫不及待地符合標準,所以我可以參加. EO被部分已經大不如有沒有像在起點從人的學習經驗和經營自己的企業. 從誰自己從經驗教訓的同行學習一直非常有價值並且我也從許多偉大的EO事件得到了這麼多的價值,包括來自世界各地的聽證會見地的發言.

隨著家庭我自己, 它找到平衡很重要, 這就是有這樣一個美妙的團隊的人誰是同樣熱情的地方 關於爭取我們的願景是非常重要的. 其餘的平衡是困難的,但我通過堅持一個通用的一周嘗試, 拿到第一完成重要的事情,並把社會和家庭的時間作為重要工作. 我也請務必留出“我的時間” - 我喜歡在清晨. 大多數早晨,如果我有一個良好的睡眠, 我喜歡早起額外. 我已經開始在早上5點醒來,它是由我的天了巨大的影響. 早起給我時間去思考, 閱讀, 寫, 受到啟發和鍛煉 - 和家裡的其他人之前,我可以做到這一切喚醒和正常的一天到一天的開始. 我絕對喜歡開始與伯爵茶一個漂亮的壺天,花一些時間寫感謝卡或我的感恩日記. 這是所有關於享受生活中的小事.

這聽起來簡單, 但建議我可以給的最好的部分是要找到你熱愛, 並找到一種方法,做出一番事業出來的. 如果你非常喜歡你做了什麼, 你會通過什麼獲得,並可能更經常在生活中找到更多的快樂. 任何人誰啟動一個企業知道有沿途犯了許多錯誤. 對我來說, 我一直歡迎失敗或犯錯作為重要的學習機會,他們是. 真正的, 我的直覺是要始終重構問題,機會和失誤精彩紛呈的學習機會.

此採訪被編輯和冷凝. 克里斯蒂娜被擊中kikki.K考文特花園店.

Kristina-Karlsson-Kikki.K-The-Lifestyle-Edit-3The object of my affection is made from the most beautiful printed calf leather, perfectly finished with an elegant enamelled gold slide. It costs more than a spree in Zara but I don’t care. I wanted it and it makes me happy. We’re not talking about handbags, but notebooks. As I write this, my desk is cluttered with them. There’s diaries – current and present – notepads I use to scribble ideas down in, not to mention quirky postcards friends and family have sent me over the years, along with thank you notes from designers and a whole drawer full of highlighter pens, ballpoint pens and special foundation pens for those days I’m feeling all swish and grown up.

Like many women, I’m addicted to stationery. I can pretty much measure out my life in paper form, from the flimsy notebooks from my school days to the ludicrously expensive ones I use now. The endless pads I used to scribble notes on during secondary school have followed me with each and every house move. And the Mont Blanc pen my grandfather bought me after my GCSEs is never too far either. While I’m likely to um and ah over dropping serious pounds on a bag I’ve had my eye on, I just can’t resist the urge to splurge on a sexy diary I don’t need. Don’t even get me started on calendars, art prints and thank you notes.

The thrill of stocking up on new season stationery is something I don’t think ever leaves you – who doesn’t remember the joy of a shiny new note pad before it became defaced with Tip-Ex and ink stains in your school bag? It all started with a Smythson notepad, a gift from my mum when I started college. So elegant, so precise, so chic. WHSmith’s spiral bound lined books were dead to me from that day onward, and a lifelong love affair was born.

Kikki.K founder Kristina Karlsson has made a career out of good stationery. Over ten years ago she woke up at 3am with an epiphany. She’d spent years moving between jobs and wanted something more. “My partner Paul encouraged me to write down everything that was important to me,” she says. “I wanted to follow a passion and do something I truly loved driving to every day. I wanted to stay connected with my friends and family in Sweden. I wanted the independent of a venture of my own. I wanted to do something meaningful. I wanted to earn enough to pay the bills.” It was only after she began toying with the idea of setting up on her own and working from home that she noticed a gap in the market for functional but design-led stationary. Fast-forward to now and Kristina heads up a business of over 600 people, with stores everywhere from Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong and her native Sweden, to Singapore, the US and finally London.

She’s the first to admit it hasn’t all been plain sailing. She launched the business months after 9/11 and the economic crash. Up until that point she’d never worked in the stationery business, had zero business knowledge and English wasn’t her first language. Instead of selling on Etsy, she convinced her partner Paul, to sell his house to give the brand the cash injection it needed and quickly opened their first store in Melbourne. The gamble paid off. She’s managed to create a world of kikki.K in the way clever brands like Anthropologie and J Crew have created perfectly curated worlds for us all to buy into. For Kristina, it’s not simply about creating something pretty. It’s about creating a look and products that we all really connect with.

New York magazine’s The Cut started a blog series called, “I Like That Bitch’s Life,” that’s pretty much set out to parody the beyond-perfect aspirations that bloggers and Instagram stars curate, but also admits that it’s something none of us can truly resist. That’s how you feel when you walk into a kikki.K store. That homeware set you bought the other day instantly feels tired and far less Instagram-worthy than the ones they have on display; their whole assortment of organisers, diaries and desk trinkets will have you rethinking your whole workspace. Here, she talks candidly about her story…



Before starting my dream for kikki.K, it was at a time in my life where I had worked in many different industries but was yet to discover my passion. I had done many things and worked all over the world – I learnt so much along the way. I hadn’t had any formal business training but I learnt by throwing myself in the deep end. Travelling, working in ski resorts in Austria, working in wineries in Germany, studying languages, working as a nanny, working a s a tour guide, working in hospitality – I did many different things. I became quite restless and at 3am one morning, my partner Paul encouraged me to write down everything that was important to me. I wanted to follow a passion and do something I truly loved driving to every day. I wanted to stay connected with my friends and family in Sweden. I wanted the independence of a venture of my own. I wanted to do something meaningful. I wanted to earn enough to pay the bills. I thought, if I were going to have a business of my own, I’d need a beautiful home office. I looked in stores for products for a productive, organised and inspiring workspace but couldn’t find anything that suited my taste. I got a bit discouraged at first but then I realised that I’d actually stumbled across a wonderful business idea and that’s how it all began. One of the first products we ever designed was the humble Storage Box – and it’s still one of my favourites to this day. You could even say, it all started with a box! It’s the perfect representation of beautiful Swedish design – form meeting function. It’s stylish, practical and can make organising your home or workspace such an easy task.

I started the business with very little training or business knowledge but I’ve never been scared to ask questions people might think are stupid. I don’t think a question is ever too stupid, because what I’ve learnt from asking those questions has been a huge help to me along the way. It’s always been a dream of mine to own my own business. I guess the first indication I had of my entrepreneurial instinct was at the age of ten, when I used to ride my bike around the snow-covered streets in my neighbourhood selling Christmas books door-to-door. I was completely driven by the rewards on offer and had a clear vision of being able to win my own TV. I decided that I would do whatever it took, and finally I did win a TV for my efforts as the region’s best saleswoman. This little venture taught me that it’s possible to achieve something when you really want to. It also taught me that you can make money and earn rewards by doing something that you truly love.


Kikki.K founder Kristina Karlsson


The best thing is that I truly love what I do. There’s nothing better than driving to work on a Monday morning (or every day for that matter) being excited. I love, love, love developing new products with the team. It’s so rewarding to start with a blank page and end with beautiful and meaningful products that people use every day to live their best life. Challenges? There’s been plenty. Having limited financial resources was probably the hardest challenge I faced as a start-up. When money is scarce, you have to be resourceful, and that’s probably the best lesson. If you’re not sure about how to do that – don’t be afraid to ask. English was my second language when I launched kikki.K, too so I didn’t even know what the word ‘invoice’ meant – I thought it was something to do with talking, as in, ‘in-voice’! And I had no idea how to put together a product development schedule, negotiate a lease, make a sales presentation, build a website or employ a fantastic team. I had absolutely no formal business training and almost nothing in the areas of finance, accounting or bookkeeping. I’d never even heard of logistics or operations. But all these challenges (and the many more that followed) are what really excited and inspired me. I had a crystal clear vision, and still do today.

My partner Paul sold his home to open our first store, just after September 11 and the big financial crash, but I never had any doubts that it was the right decision. I had such a clear vision of what I could create and I truly believed there would be enough people who would love what I had in mind. There were definitely points in growing the business where things were tough and giving up would’ve been an easy way out. Anyone who has started a business of their own will know exactly what I mean. But because I had a crystal clear vision of exactly what I wanted to achieve, that was always strong enough to pull everyone through, no matter what happened. When the doors of our first boutique opened in Melbourne and I met so many people looking for product like ours, I realised that my vision and our decision had paid off. But I did have some friends tell me I was crazy convincing my partner Paul to sell his house and throw it all into kikki.K. They thought it was a huge risk but I had such a clear vision of what we wanted to do that I didn’t see it as a big risk. My partner Paul has been a total inspiration and a very supportive mentor. Aside from the fact that he believed in my idea (that some thought was crazy) enough to sell his house to fund our first store, Paul has guided me to one of my most important lessons – to find something I was passionate about and make it a career.

In the early days, you could count our team on one hand. Today, in our peak periods we have a team of over 600, including our retail teams. There comes a time when you need to realise you can’t possibly do everything yourself – as much as you’d love to. That’s when building a wonderful team of people around you is most important. From day one, I’ve always had lots of support from the people around me, and we have such an incredible, talented, passionate people today.

Opening our very first boutique was a huge milestone. Being able to open the doors to my own store was just an incredible feeling – and then seeing the reaction from customers every day was just as exciting. From there, opening our first interstate store was a highlight of its own, as was our first international store and the many more that followed. Some other highlights include being nominated for the Innovation Award in the Oracle World Retail Awards (an award previously won by Apple and Nike) and being presented with a Swedish Business award by the King and Queen of Sweden.

Kikki.K founder Kristina KarlssonAs our Creative Director, I’m still very much involved with our product development and design process. We have an incredible team of talented designers and product managers that I work with to bring ideas to fruition. It’s quite a long process, but I absolutely love it. I’m always gathering inspiration throughout the year – snapping things on my phone, jotting things down in my notebook, collecting prints, colours and type that inspire me. I’ll put together a mood board for the range and present it to our design and product team and from there, we’ll assign the designer who will work on the range and provide the theme and a brief, including everything from colour references to ideas on the illustrations and fonts. From there, we go through many different concepts as a team. We have weekly meetings where we develop illustrations, change colours and discuss taking ideas down different paths. Having a strong team and an ability to delegate is so important. As much as your passion will tell you otherwise, you can’t do everything yourself – so surround yourself with wonderful people to help you on your way. Contacts are invaluable, so seek mentors. You’ll be surprised by how many people are happy to help, and how much you can learn from others.

I remember reading about Entrepreneurs’ Organization nearly 10 years ago when I just started my business. I couldn’t wait to meet the criteria so I could join. Being part of EO has been great as there is nothing like learning from people with experience in starting and running their own businesses. Learning from peers who have themselves learnt from experience has been really valuable and I’ve also got so much value from many great EO events including hearing insightful speakers from all over the world.

With a family of my own, it’s important to find that balance, and that’s where having such a wonderful team of people who are just as passionate about striving for our vision is really important. Remaining balanced is difficult but I try to by sticking to a generic week, to get the important things done first and put social and family time as important as work. I also make sure to set aside ‘me time’ – which I like to have early in the morning. Most mornings if I’ve had a good night sleep, I love to rise extra early. I’ve started waking up at 5am and it’s made a huge impact on my days. Getting up early gives me time to think, read, write, be inspired and exercise – and I can do it all before the rest of the family wakes and the normal day-to-day starts. I absolutely love to start the day with a beautiful pot of Earl Grey tea and spend some time writing thank you cards or in my Gratitude Journal. It’s all about enjoying those little things in life.

It might sound simple, but the best piece of advice I can give is to find something you’re passionate about, and find a way to make a career out of it. If you absolutely love what you do, you’ll get through anything and be likely to find more joy in life more often. Anyone who starts a business knows that there are many mistakes made along the way. For me, I’ve always welcomed failing or making mistakes as the important learning opportunity they are. Genuinely, my instinct is to always reframe problems as opportunities and mistakes as brilliant learning opportunities.

This interview was been edited and condensed. Kristina was shot in the kikki.K Covent Garden store.

Join The Community

Join thousands of women who wake up with us every Tuesday and Thursday for inspiring stories, entrepreneurship wisdom & updates on our workshops, supper clubs and events.

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit